

Economic Development Committee MINUTES

Thursday, September 12, 2024

3:00 p.m. Courthouse – Room 1277 721 Oxford Ave, Eau Claire, WI

Present: Becca Coleman, Sarah Gordee, Brett Geboy, Tim Davis (3:14 p.m.), James Rolbecki (3:14 p.m.)

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk, Rod Eslinger, Mike Golat, Steve Jahn (remote), Aaron White (remote)

Public: Present

Call to Order and Confirmation of Meeting Notice

Chair Geboy called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

Roll Call

Noted above.

Public Comment

No members of the public wished to make comment.

Review of meeting minutes from August 8, 2024

Motion by Becca Coleman, no deletions, corrections, or additions. All in favor, minutes approved.

Priorities of the Economic Development Committee

Supervisor Geboy lead the discussion.

<u>West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission Update by Scott Allen (Executive Director) and Tobi</u> <u>LeMahieu (Regional Business Fund Manager)</u>

Scott Allen and Tobi LeMahieu from the West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission provided information about their organization.

Rural Partners Network (RPN) Background and Opportunity

Altoona City Manager, Mike Golat briefly covered RPN. Administrator Schauf will be invited to provide a more in depth overview at a future meeting.

Outdoor Innovation Summit presentation by Mike Golat, Altoona City Administrator

Altoona City Manager, Mike Golat debriefed the committee on the Outdoor Innovation Summit that took place in Marquette, Michigan.



Economic Development Committee MINUTES

Thursday, September 12, 2024

3:00 p.m. Courthouse – Room 1277 721 Oxford Ave, Eau Claire, WI

Future Agenda Items

- Momentum West
- UW-Extension (November)
- Rural Partners Network

The next meeting will be on October 10, 2024, at 3:00 p.m.

Announcements

Members provided the following announcements.

- Eau Claire EDC Luncheon coming up
- September 25 WEDA Best Practices Conference (Miron Construction giving open house)

The meeting was adjourned at 4:19 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink, Clerk Executive Office Administrator