OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

The County Board of Supervisors of the County of Eau Claire convened at the Courthouse in the City of Eau Claire on Tuesday, August 16th, 2021, and was called to order by Chair Nick Smiar at 7:00 p.m.

The Board honored the flag with the pledge of allegiance. Moment of Reflection by Supervisor Leary

Roll Call: 23 present: Supervisors Todd Meyer, Amanda Babb, Joe Knight, Dane Zook, Cory W. Sisk, Allen Myren, Nancy Coffey, Nathan Otto, Brett Geboy, Connie Russell, Judy Gatlin, Nick Smiar, Thomas Vue, James A. Dunning, Gerald "Jerry" Wilke, John Folstad, Mark Beckfield, Katherine Schneider, Robin J. Leary, Heather DeLuka, Tami Schraufnagel, Kyle Johnson, Missy Christopherson

6 absent: Supervisors Stella Pagonis, Larry Hoekstra, Steve Chilson, David Hirsch, Jodi Lepsch, Kimberly Cronk

JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS (July 19, 2022)

On a motion by Supervisor Leary, seconded by Supervisor Coffey, the Journal of Proceedings was approved via roll call vote as follows:

23 Ayes: Supervisors Meyer, Babb, Knight, Zook, Sisk, Myren, Coffey, Otto, Geboy, Russell, Gatlin, Smiar, Vue, Dunning, Wilkie, Folstad, Beckfield, Schneider, Leary, DeLuka, Schraufnagel, Johnson, Christopherson 0 Noes

6 Absent: Supervisors Pagonis, Hoekstra, Chilson, Hirsch, Lepsch, Cronk

PUBLIC COMMENT

Michael McHomey spoke on the ARPA Grant, Steve Betchkal spoke on issue of cats decimating the bird population, Michelle Skinner spoke on Lake Altoona

REPORTS TO THE COUNTY BOARD UNDER 2.04.320

The following oral reports were presented: 2021 Audit results by Brock Geyen, Clifton/Larson/Allen Debt 101 by Sean Lentz, Ehlers ARPA Update by Administrator Schauf and Tobi LeMahieu, WCWRPC

The following written reports were presented: 2022 Contingency Fund July Vouchers over \$10,000

*Supervisors Chilson and Pagonis arrived at this time.

PRESENTATIONS OF PETITIONS, CLAIMS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Rezoning request from owner, Karlyn & Joy Rudy; applicant, Garrett Halama for the Town of Pleasant Valley.

*Supervisor Cronk arrived at this time.

.

REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES, COMMITTEES, COMMISSIONS AND BOARDS UNDER 2.04.160 AND SECOND READING OF ORDINANCES

Committee on Administration

Ordinance 22-23/016 TO AMEND SECTION 2.04.010 B. OF THE CODE: RULE 1 – MEETINGS; TO AMEND SECTION 2.04.130 C. OF THE CODE: RULE 13 – DILIGENT COMMITTEE SERVICE On a motion by Supervisor Cronk, Seconded by Supervisor Schraufnagel, the Amendment was approved via roll call vote.

Resolution 22/23-046 APPROVING THE ADDITIONAL ARPA FUNDING FOR A TOTAL OF \$348,500 FOR ADDITIONAL COMPONENT #2 PROJECT REQUESTS AND ADMINITRATIVE COSTS On a motion by Supervisor Schraufnagel, Seconded by Supervisor Gatlin, the Ordinance was enacted via roll call vote.

Resolution 22/23-043 RESOLUTION TO PUBLIC SAFETY ANSWERING POINT (PSAP) GRANT FUNDING FOR ONE PUBLIC SAFETY ANSWERING POINT PER COUNTY On a motion by Supervisor Gatlin, Seconded by Supervisor Dunning, the Ordinance was enacted via roll call vote.

Committee on Finance & Budget

Ordinance 22-23/041 TO REPEAL AND RECREATE CHAPTER 4.20 OF THE EAU CLAIRE COUNTY CODE: ACQUISITION AND SALE OF TAX DELINQUENT LANDS; TO REPEAL SECTIONS 4.25.100, 4.25.110 AND 4.25.120 OF THE CODE: SALE OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY, DISTRIBUTION OF FORECLOSURE PROCEEDS AND ORDINANCE ELECTING TO PROCEED UNDER WIS. STAT. § 75.521 IN RELATION TO ENFORCEMENT OF COLLECTION OF TAX LIENS

On a motion by Supervisor Leary, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin, the resolution was adopted via roll call vote.

Highway Committee & Committee on Human Resources

Resolution 22-23/038 ABOLISH 1.0 (FTE) HIGHWAY SIGN & MARKING SUPPORT, CREATE 1.0 (FTE) HIGHWAY SIGN & MARKING FOREMAN

On a motion by Supervisor Gatlin, Seconded by Supervisor Christopherson, the Resolution was adopted via roll call vote

Resolution 22-23/039 ABOLISH 1.0 (FTE) SHOP LEAD, CREATE 1.0 (FTE) SHOP FOREMAN On a motion by Supervisor Otto, Seconded by Supervisor Sisk, the Resolution was adopted via roll call vote.

The Board adjourned at 9:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue McDonald

Sue McDonald County Clerk