

MINUTES

Eau Claire County Joint Meeting

Committee on Administration & Committee on Finance & Budget Tuesday, July 11, 2023, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 1277

Committee on Administration: Judy Gatlin, Connie Russell, Gerald Wilkie, Nick Smiar, Allen Myren (ex-officio)

Committee on John Folstad, Jim Dunning, Robin Leary, Cory Sisk, Dane Zook

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink, Amy Weiss, Greg Dachel, Charity Zich, Sonja Leenhouts, Sharon McIlquham, Norb Kirk, Kathryn Schauf, Angela Eckman, Cory Sisk, Erika Gullerud

Call to Order and confirmation of meeting notice

Chair Smiar called the Committee on Administration to order at 2:30 p.m. and confirmed the joint meeting notice. Chair Zook called the Committee on Finance and Budget to order at 2:30 p.m.

Roll call

Roll call was taken for each committee respectively and is listed above.

Public Comment

No members of the public wished to make comment.

2024 Department Budget Presentation

• Facilities Department presented by Matt Theisen, Facilities Director

Motion by Supervisor Wilkie to approves the Facilities budget as presented. Seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor, motion carries.

Adjournment of the Committee on Finance & Budget

The committee adjourned at 2:59 p.m.

Ex-officio present at this time: Dane Zook, Allen Myren

Review of meeting minutes from June 13, 2023, and June 20, 2023

Motion by Supervisor Wilkie, seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor, motion carries.

United Way Day off with Pay: Charity Zich, Chair of the United Way Committee/Airport Director

Charity Zich provided a brief overview of the request of the prize to employees who pledge to the annual campaign. The request is for two days off with pay (one day per individual.) Motion by Supervisor Gatlin motions to approve, seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor, motion carries.

Resolution for ARPA funds for Broadband Contract: Fairchild Fiber Connect Project (File 23-24/026)

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor

From Addendum:

<u>File No. 23-24/023: Resolution approving the Eau Claire County Opioid Task Force to expend funding for Community Sharps Disposal Containers, Lock Bags, and Lock Boxes</u>

Eau Claire

MINUTES

Eau Claire County Joint Meeting

Committee on Administration & Committee on Finance & Budget Tuesday, July 11, 2023, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center 721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 1277

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor, motion carries.

<u>File No. 23-24/024: Resolution approving the Eau Claire County Task Force to expend funding for Narcan and Fentanyl test strips</u>

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Wilkie. All in favor, motion carries.

Administrator Updates: Kathryn Schauf, County Administrator

Administrator Schauf gave brief update on the EMS Committee and share public health services.

Appointments

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisors Russell. All in favor for the following appointments:

- a. Local Emergency Planning Committee
 - i. Jamie Burkhardt (reappointment)
 - ii. Sarah Seifert (new appointment)

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisors Gatlin. All in favor for the following appointment:

- b. Broadband Committee
 - i. Brian Barres

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisors Gatlin. All in favor for the following appointments:

- c. EMS Study Committee
 - i. Joe Alf (Township Fire/EMS Representative)
 - ii. Jake Brunette (Assistant Corporation Counsel)
 - iii. Tyler Esh (Emergency Management Director)
 - iv. Rod Eslinger (Director of Planning & Development)
 - v. Supervisor Allen Myren
 - vi. Supervisor Todd Meyer
 - vii. Supervisor Dane Zook

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. The committee moved into closed session at 3:32 p.m.

Sec. 19.85(1)(c) for the purpose of considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation date of any "public employee" over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. *County Administrator Annual Performance Evaluation*

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Assistant to the County Administrator