

MINUTES

Eau Claire County
Committee on Administration
Tuesday, January 10, 2023, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 3312

Present: Connie Russell, Judy Gatlin, Nick Smiar, Dane Zook (ex-officio), Allen Myren (ex-officio)

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk, Kathryn Schauf, Sonja Leenhouts, Sharon McIlquham, Regan Watts, Rod Eslinger, Todd Meyer (County Board Supervisor, Chair of Broadband Committee), Dave Hayden (Broadband Committee member)

Public: Gerald Wilkie (County Board Supervisor – remote, non-voting)

Call to Order and confirmation of meeting notice

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Roll call

The committee clerk called the role and is listed above under present.

Public Comment

The following individuals expressed their opposition to File No. 22-23/081: Resolution directing the County Clerk to place the referendum question contained in this resolution regarding the Wisconsin 1849 Abortion Ban Law on the April 4, 2023, general election ballot:

Dale Landerville, Carl Schmuck, Joy Schmuck, Carol Cox, Mike Klotz, Dori Pulse, Charles Wilkinson, Patsy Danovsky, Dan Kantos, Mike Conlin, Wayne Peters, Michelle Vanderhyde, Gary Marine, Kathryn Bartelt (447 W Grand Ave., Eau Claire),

The following individuals expressed their comments to File No. 22-23/081: Resolution directing the County Clerk to place the referendum question contained in this resolution regarding the Wisconsin 1849 Abortion Ban Law on the April 4, 2023, general election ballot:

Ken Buckmen (3605 Wintergreen Court, Eau Claire)

Review of meeting minutes from December 13, 2022.

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. No deletions, corrections, or additions. Minutes approved.

File No. 22-23/087: Resolution designating American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds to be used by the Broadband Committee for the purpose of Broadband expansion and financially supporting other Broadband projects deemed to further the Broadband Committee's goal of supporting high speed internet across Eau Claire County

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin. Todd Meyer, Chair of the Broadband Committee was in attendance to provide background information. Rod Eslinger, Director of Planning & Development also provided additional details.

<u>File No. 22-23/081: Resolution directing the County Clerk to place the referendum question contained in this</u> resolution regarding the Wisconsin 1849 Abortion Ban Law on the April 4, 2023, general election ballot

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. Supervisor Gatlin provided background information. Supervisor Russell suggested to remove the siting of polls in the fact sheet. Corporation Counsels advised that the Committee has the authority place the question on a ballot after moving forward the County Board. Motion by Supervisor



MINUTES

Eau Claire County
Committee on Administration
Tuesday, January 10, 2023, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 3312

Gatlin to amend the resolution for the question to read, "Should the Wisconsin legislature repeal the state's 1849 Abortion Ban law?" Seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor. On the main motion as amended, all in favor.

File No. 22-23/086: Ordinance to create Chapter 2.08 of the Code: Code of Conduct and Conduct Inquiry Board

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. Sharon McIlquham provided background information. All in favor.

County Board reports from Departments

The Committee discussed different opportunities to provide educational information about departments to the board. Ideas include:

- Educational meeting after election of the board
- Introductions of department staff to the committee
- Q&A on website
- Comparison/Impact reports
- Bio of county board members on the website (NACo Meet the Counties)

Administration will draft a proposal and present at a future meeting.

Appointments

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell. All in favor to approve the following to the Sustainability Advisory Committee.

- i. Supervisor Jim Dunning
- ii. Supervisor Tami Schraufnagel
- iii. Nathan Anderson
- iv. Kathy Campbell
- v. Patrick Bethke
- vi. Amy Alpine
- vii. Lily Strehlow
- viii. Eleanor Wolf
- ix. Tim Davis
- x. Cathy Lea
- xi. Jeff White

The meeting was adjourned at 4:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink

Assistant to the County Administrator