MINUTES

Chippewa-St. Croix Passenger Rail Commission Wednesday, August 17, 2022, at 1:30 p.m.

Dunn County Board Room Room 54 of the Dunn County Government Center, 3001 US Highway 12 East in Menomonie, Wisconsin

Present: Jeremy Gragert, Jim Dunning, Gary Stene, Gretchen Yonko, Tiffany Weiss

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink, Sharon McIlquham, Ann Schell, Scott Rogers, Lowell Prange, Greg Baxter, Jim Hanson, Arun Rao, Ray Chambers, Mason Baxter, Derek James, Lisa Stern

Ex-Officio: Adam Wehling, Ann Schell, Eric Anderson, Ethan Osten, Greg Mathis, Jake Wrasse, John Will, Kristi Krimpelbein, Lindsey Douglas,

Call to Order and confirmation of meeting notice

Chair Dunning called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Introductions

Commission members and ex-officio members introduced themselves.

Public Comment

No members of the public wished to make comment.

Review/Approval of Meeting Minutes for July 13, 2022

Motion by Gary Stene, seconded by Jeremy Gragert to postpone review and approval of minutes until the next meeting of the commission. All in favor, motion carried.

History of the Chippewa-St.Croix Passenger Rail Commission

Scott Rogers provided a background on the Commission from its conception.

Lindsey Douglas, Union Pacific

Lindsey Douglas provided a brief introduction of Union Pacific's role/goals with the commission and process.

Lisa Stern, WisDOT

Lisa Stern provided an introduction. WisDOT is working on developing an expression of interest with MnDot. Lisa Stern suggests that this commission submits their own expression of interest.

Arun Rao, Amtrak

MINUTES

Chippewa-St. Croix Passenger Rail Commission Wednesday, August 17, 2022, at 1:30 p.m.

Arun Rao provided an introduction. Arun has changed roles from WisDOT to Amtrak. Arun provided information on funding/grant options available.

Bylaws Update

Motion to postpone by Gary Stene due to lack of 2/3 quorum needed. Seconded by Gretchen Yonko. All in favor. Samantha Kraegenbrink will send a meeting request to members to convene a special, virtual meeting to review the bylaws and act on them.

Corridor Identification Plan resolution update; expressions of interest

Jeremy Gragert, Scott Rogers, Jim Dunning, Ann Schell have volunteered for a sub-committee to complete the Corridor Identification Plan resolution. Resolution will be provided at next meeting.

Resolution for cost share and proceeding with market sounding

Motion by Gary Stene, seconded by Jeremy Gragert. Greg Baxter (Herzog) provided further detail on market sounding. Ray Chambers provided further information. All in favor of the resolution. Each member shall provide a resolution to present to their respective governmental body.

Agenda items for future meetings

- July 13, 2022, minutes review and approval
- Bylaws
- Fiscal agent/administration for the commission
- Station sites

Future Meeting dates

- Samantha Kraegenbrink will send a doodle poll to convene a special meeting to review and act on the bylaws.
- September 21, 2022, at 8:30 a.m.
- October 26, 2022, at 8:30 a.m.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Assistant to the County Administrator, Eau Claire County