

### **MINUTES**

Eau Claire County
Committee on Administration
Monday, May 16, 2022, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 3312

Present: Nick Smiar, Judy Gatlin, Nancy Coffey, Connie Russell, Gerald Wilkie

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink, Kathryn Schauf, Rod Eslinger, Greg Dachel, Norb Kirk, Matt Theisen, Dave Riewestahl, Jessica McDonald, Eric Huse, Josh Pedersen, Sharon McIlquham, Sonja Leenhouts, Holly Blaschko, Megan Brasch, Lynn Nelson – WCWRPC

# Call to Order and confirmation of meeting notice

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

### **Public Comment**

No members of the public wished to make comment.

### **Appointment of Committee Clerk**

Chair Smiar appointed Samantha Kraegenbrink as the Committee Clerk.

# Review and approval of meeting minutes for April 12, 2022

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin. No additions, corrections, or deletions. All in favor, minutes approved.

# <u>File No. 23-23/006: Resolution requesting resolutions to be considered at the 2022 WCA Annual</u> Business Meeting as amended

Supervisor Coffey motioned, seconded by Supervisor Russell. Sharon McIlquham provided detail. The resolution was amended (and amendment provided to the Committee) to add File No. 21-22/085: Authorizing a countywide advisory referendum on clean water now for Wisconsin and File No. 21-22/128: Supporting the continuation of the Knowles-Nelson Stewardship Program. All in favor, motion passes.

### Update and next steps for ARPA: Kathryn Schauf, County Administrator

Lynn Nelson (WCWRPC – Third Party Grant Administrator) provided and update on the two grants offered from the ARPA Committee (Eau Claire County.) Funding is marked to be out within the next month. Rod Eslinger provided an update on the ARPA funds for the Broadband Committee.

#### **Rules of the Board**

File No. 22-23/016: To amend section 2.04.010 B. of the Code: Rule 1 – Meetings: To amend section 2.04.130 C. of the Code: Rule 13 – Diligent Committee Service

Motion by Supervisor Coffey, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin.

Amendments by Committee:

Remove "worldwide" from line 19 and line 31.

# Eau Claire

# **MINUTES**

Eau Claire County
Committee on Administration
Monday, May 16, 2022, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 3312

All in favor of the amended motion. File No. 22-23/016 will be held from the upcoming County Board meeting.

File No. 22-23/017: To amend section 2.04.101 B. of the Code: Rule 1 – Meetings

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Russell.

Amendments by Committee:

Strike ", as deemed necessary by the individual board member" from line 14.

Supervisor Wilkie motions to postpone 22-23/017 to the next meeting of Committee on Administration. Supervisor Coffey seconds the motion.

File No. 22-23/019: To amend section 2.04.030 D. of the Eau Claire County Code: Rule 3 – Opening of Meeting

Motion by Supervisor Wilkie, seconded by Supervisor Russell.

Amendments by Committee:

Strike "Presentation of a summary of departmental budgets by the chairs of the governing committees and the chair of the finance and budget committee." from lines 18-19.

Motion by Supervisor Coffey, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin to amend. 4 yes, 1 no. On the main motion as amended, all in favor.

File No. 22-23/020: To amend section 2.04.050 C. of the Code: Rule 5 – Speaking at the meeting

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin. 1 in favor (Supervisor Wilkie), 4 against. Motion fails.

File No. 22-23/021: To create section 2.04.050 D. of the Code: Rule 5 – Speaking at meetings

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin. 2 in favor (Supervisor Wilkie, Russell), 3 against. Motion fails.

### Proclamation proclaiming Sunday, June 19, 2022, as "Juneteenth Day" in Eau Claire County

Motion by Supervisor Gatlin, seconded by Supervisor Coffey. All in favor.

### **Appointments**:

 Local Emergency Planning Committee Jack Running Jason Knecht Jim Hager

# Eau Claire

### **MINUTES**

Eau Claire County
Committee on Administration
Monday, May 16, 2022, at 2:30 p.m.
Eau Claire County Government Center
721 Oxford Ave., Eau Claire • Room 3312

Matthew Jaggar

- Land Conservation Commission Ricky Strauch Glory Adams
- County Housing Authority Jennifer Ebert
- Chippewa Valley Regional Airport Commission Barry Wells
- Aging & Disability Resource Board Jean Doty
- Board of Land Use Appeals Gary Gibson
- West Central Regional Planning Commission John Frank

Motion by Supervisor Russell, seconded by Supervisor Gatlin. All in favor of appointments.

# **Board/Employee Interaction Policy**

Moved to next meeting.

<u>Orientation of department operations: Administration, Child Support, Corporation Counsel, Information Services, Facilities, Veterans Services</u>

Moved to next meeting.

### **Timing of Strategic Plan**

Moved to next meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Assistant to the County Administrator