

MINUTES

Eau Claire County Committee on Administration Tuesday, February 1, 2022 *Virtual Meeting*

Present: Gerald Wilkie, Colleen Bates, Nancy Coffey, Nick Smiar, Mark Beckfield (2:35 p.m.)

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk, Kathryn Schauf, Tim Sullivan, Jeneise Briggs, Matt Theisen, Norb Kirk, Sonja Leenhouts, Joseph Russell (von Briesen & Roper), Mindy Dale (von Briesen & Roper), Amy Weiss, Dave Riewestahl

Public: Ryan Patterson – Leader Telegram, Dane Zook – County Board Supervisor, others present

Call to Order and confirmation of meeting notice

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

Roll Call

The Committee Clerk took the roll, and it is noted above under present.

Public Comment

No members of the public wished to make comment.

Review/Approval of Committee Meeting Minutes

Motion by Supervisor Bates, seconded by Supervisor Coffey to approve minutes from January 11, 2022. No additions/deletions or corrections. Approved unanimously.

Update from von Briesen & Roper, s.c. by Joseph Russell and/or Mindy Dale.

Mindy Dale and Joseph Russell from von Briesen & Roper provided an update/background regarding being hired to assist the County with the DHS investigation with the Sheriff's office. The committee was given the opportunity to discuss.

Review of Q3 County Board Finance Report

Samantha Kraegenbrink provided a report on the Q3 County Board finances.

Administrator Updates

Administrator Schauf provided an update on the following:

- a. ARPA Funding Progress
- b. Strategic Planning Progress
- c. Workplan

Rules of the Board

Corporation County Sullivan provided background information on the process of the Rules of the Board.

Board Effectiveness and Communication

Chair Smiar provided background on item regarding the onboarding process of new members and ongoing education for incumbent board members.

Corporation Counsel update by Kathryn Schauf

Kathryn Schauf provided an update on the Corporation Counsel recruiting status. A special meeting will be held with this committee to conduct interviews.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Assistant to the County Administrator