

OFFICE OF CLERK OF COURTS EAU CLAIRE COUNTY 721 Oxford Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54703

Susan Schaffer, Clerk of Court Ashley Proue, Chief Deputy Clerk 715-839-4816 OFFICE 715-839-4817 FAX

FOLLOW-UP AFTER A CIVIL NAME CHANGE IS GRANTED

1. Vital Record Reporting

- The Vital Record birth certificate may be changed if the name change order provided for it.
- When the order provides for a birth certificate change and the person whose name is changed was born in Wisconsin, they will need to complete the "Report of Legal Name Change" form generated by the Dept of Health Services (F-05021).
- This form will be provided to the petitioner by the clerk after the court hearing.
- The Report of Legal Name Change is not necessary if the birth name is not changed.
- Fees due Vital Record in the form of a check or money order:
 - o \$10.00 for a change on the birth certificate.
 - o \$20.00 for one certified copy of the amended birth certificate.
 - o \$ 3.00 for each additional certified birth certificate copy (discounted rate).
- Return completed form along with payment to Clerk of Court office.
- If the person was not born in Wisconsin, he or she will have to follow the applicable laws in his or her birth state or jurisdiction for recording the name change. To change an out of state birth record, the order for name change should specify that, i.e, "Birth record in the State of (list proper state) is ordered changed. Even then, it is up to the out-of-state registrar whether to honor a court order from Wisconsin.

2. Register of Deeds Reporting:

- Statutory requirement under WI STATS 786.36 and 2011 Act 274.
- The name change party is responsible for paying the recording fee of \$30.00 to the Register of Deeds (ROD) office. This becomes a permanent record in the ROD versus the Civil Circuit Court Record which only has a twenty (20) year retention period. The ROD reporting is also significant for real estate purposes.

3. Other Reportings for Business, Medical, Educational, etc.

- You will need to consider and inform ALL those who need to be made aware of this name change. This includes <u>but is not limited</u> to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Social Security, Passport Agency, Department of Revenue, medical care providers, financial institutions, educational facilities, pension or beneficiary funds, utility providers, credit card companies and religious organizations. Most of these examples will likely need to see or have a certified copy of the amended birth certificate or name change order to process necessary changes. When in doubt, check ahead.
- 4. <u>Certified copy of Amended Birth Certificate</u>: The petitioner can secure a certified copy of the amended birth certificate through Vital Records, or through any Wisconsin Register of Deeds office.
- 5. <u>Certified copy of Name Change Order:</u> The petitioner can purchase a certified copy of the name change order through the Clerk as long as the record is maintained (20 year retention period). You will need to provide your case number. Otherwise you can search for your case # through www.wicourts.gov, or through electronic work stations available in the Clerk's office.