## **Instructions for Completion and Submission of:**

## Petition for Name Change for Minor Child under 14 (CV-455)

(There is a \$164.50 Filing Fee, plus publication fees, and if applicable, service fees, see instructions below)

Any resident of the State of Wisconsin may petition the circuit court for a name change. The petition must
be filed in the circuit court in the child's county of residence. After the petition is filed, "Notice/Order" of
intent to change the child's name must be published in the appropriate newspaper and if applicable served
on the other parent along with the Petition (there is a fee for both of these services). [This does not apply to
a petition for the name change of a minor under 14 years of age made under s. 786.36(1m)(c).] The Court will
then hold a hearing and determine if the request may be granted.

## **Procedure Checklist**

	Complete FORM CV-455 (Petition for Name Change for Minor Child under 14)
	Fill in heading, caption and name information of FORM CV-460 (Notice & Order for Name Change Hearing)
	<u>Complete</u> FORM CV-470 (Order for Name Change)
	<u>Make</u> copies of the Petition for Name Change for Minor Child Under 14, one for yourself and if applicable
	one for service on the other parent.
	<b>Bring</b> the following items to the Clerk of Court's office for filing during regular courthouse hours:
	<ul> <li>Original and copies</li> </ul>
	<ul><li>Filing fee of \$164.50</li></ul>
	<ul> <li>A self addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage to return your documents, an additional</li> </ul>
	fee can be paid to cover the cost of mailing (The Clerk's office is unable to open cases immediately,
	so a self addressed stamped envelope or additional mail fee is needed to return your copies.) Call
	for current return postage/envelope rate.
	Payment may be made by cash, check, money order, or debit/credit card (additional fee for using
	debit/credit card) payable to Clerk of Courts. The clerk will file stamp all copies, keep one copy and return
	the original and any additional copies provided to you. You will retain the original in your records.
	You should IMMEDIATELY have Notice published State law (Wisconsin Statute § 786.37) requires the
	publication of the Notice & Order for Hearing as a third-class notice in a local newspaper prior to the
	hearing date. It must be printed once a week for three weeks. After the publication is completed, the
	newspaper will provide you with a <b>Proof of Publication</b> .
	You should IMMEDIATELY have Petition and Notice served on the non-petitioning parent if paternity has
	been established. For the court to hear the case, the non-petitioning parent must be provided with a copy
	of the Petition for Name Change and Notice and Order for Name Change Hearing far enough in advance of
	the hearing. A sheriff or private process server must attempt to personally serve the non-petitioning
	parent. After the documents are served, you will be provided with a <b>Proof of Service</b> .
	If personal service cannot be accomplished, An Affidavit/Certificate of Non-Service will be sent to you by
	the sheriff or private process server and the Affidavit of Attempted Service on Non-Petitioning Parent (CV-
	465) can be used to demonstrate attempted service on the non-petitioner.

This does not apply to a petition for the name change of a minor under 14 years of age made under s. 786.36(1m)(c).

- □ <u>File</u> Proof of Publication and, if appropriate Proof of Service or Affidavit/Certificate of Non-Service at least 48 hours prior to the hearing date.
- ☐ Appear at the Name Change Hearing via Zoom meeting ID included on your Notice and Order for Name Change Hearing. Sign in 10 minutes prior to make sure your audio/video are in working order.
- ☐ After the hearing, the Clerk will you call you to follow-up with your next steps.
  - <u>Certified Copies</u>, you will be asked how many certified copies you would like right away. The cost is \$5.00 certification plus \$1.25 per page.
  - Register of Deeds Reporting, you will need to pay the Register of Deeds \$30.00 to register your name change.
  - State of Wisconsin Vital Statistic Reporting (Birth Certificate/Marriage Certificate), if the child was born in the State of Wisconsin and the order affects the vital record, you will be provided a Vital Records Report of Legal Name Change to be completed by you and submitted with payment to the State of Wisconsin Vital Records Department.
  - Out of State Vital Statistic Reporting, if the child was born outside of Wisconsin and the court order
    affects the vital record, you will need to contact the other state's "vital records office" and find out
    what is required for them to change your birth certificate information.
  - Reporting elsewhere: To report your change of name from a personal and business perspective, you will need to contact individual entities and provide adequate proof of the name change in order for those places to change your name on their records. Entities to consider include the department of motor vehicles, social security administration, healthcare facilities, places where you bank, carry insurance, educational facilities, passport agency, employment, utility and phone services, etc.

All numbered forms referenced can be found at www.wicourts.gov under forms→circuit court→civil→name change

See the Clerk of Courts website for further information at: <a href="https://www.co.eau-claire.wi.us/our-government/departments-and-facilities/department-directory/clerk-of-courts">https://www.co.eau-claire.wi.us/our-government/departments-and-facilities/department-directory/clerk-of-courts</a>