

### **MINUTES**

# Eau Claire County Committee on Administration Tuesday, August 10, 2021, at 2:30 p.m. *Virtual Meeting*

Committee members present: Colleen Bates, Mark Beckfield, Ray Henning, Gerald Wilkie, Nick Smiar

Others: Andrea Helland-Acting Committee Clerk, Lieske Giese, Charity Zich, Kathryn Schauf, Sue McDonald, Norb Kirk, Jeneise Briggs, Connie Russell, Sonja Leenhouts, Tim Sullivan, Rod Eslinger, Matt Theisen, Jessica Rubin, Judy Gatlin

Public: Ryan Patterson, Leader Telegram

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Verbal roll call was taken and is listed above under committee members present.

No members of the public wished to make comment.

The committee reviewed the meeting minutes from July 13, 2021. Motion by Supervisor Bates to approve; seconded by Supervisor Wilke. No deletions or corrections. Minutes approved as presented.

Health Department Director, Lieske Giese, was in attendance to provide guidance on returning to in-person meetings. Director Giese made the following recommendations:

• Because of high transmission level and an increase in number of cases due to the Delta variant, remote meetings are still recommended

Airport Director and Chair of the United Way Committee requested 2 days off with pay as an employee incentive to donate to the United Way during the annual campaign. The day off will be randomly drawn. Motion by Supervisor Beckfield, seconded by Supervisor Henning. All in favor, motion passes.

Motion by Supervisor Beckfield; seconded by Supervisor Bates, the Committee discussed File No. 21-22/042: Ordinance amending 1.04.010 of the Code. All in favor, motion passes.

Motion by Supervisor Henning; seconded by Supervisor Wilke, the Committee discussed File No. 21-22/040: Resolution to sell 2000 Spooner Avenue to the City of Altoona. All in favor, motion passes.

The Committee discussed the redistricting timeline and process.

Motion by Supervisor Bates; seconded by Supervisor Beckfield, The Committee discussed File No. 21-22/043: Resolution to authorize a special meeting for November 9, 2021, to approve the final redistricting plan pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes Section 59.10(3)(B). All in favor, motion passes.

## **MINUTES**



# Eau Claire County Committee on Administration Tuesday, August 10, 2021, at 2:30 p.m.

### Virtual Meeting

Kathryn Schauf and Norb Kirk provided information on the process for distribution and funding parameters (ARPA Funding)

- a. Review of Funding Parameters
- b. Lost Revenue Projections-ARPA Lost Revenue Calculation is determined based on the difference between actual revenue and the ARPA base year of 2019.
- c. Current and Potential Allocations

Chair Smiar motioned to move into closed session pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes Section 19.85(1)(g) conferring with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written legal advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved.

Roll call vote taken to move into closed session; members present: Colleen Bates, Mark Beckfield, Ray Henning, Gerald Wilkie, Nick Smiar. The committee moved into closed session at 3:55 p.m.

Voice vote taken to move into open session; members present: Colleen Bates, Mark Beckfield, Ray Henning, Gerald Wilkie, Nick Smiar. The committee moved into open session at 4:16 p.m.

Chair Smiar advised that he is appointing Angela Deutschlander to the Veterans Service Commission-motion by Supervisor Beckfield, seconded by Supervisor Henning. And Ann Nielson to the Broadband Committee-motion by Supervisor Bates, seconded by Supervisor Wilke. Unanimously approved.

Chair Smiar advised that he is appointing the following to the ARPA Taskforce:

- County Board Supervisors
  - Dane Zook
  - Zoe Roberts
  - Connie Russell
- County Staff
  - Kathryn Schauf, County Administrator
  - Tim Sullivan, Corporation Council
  - Norb Kirk, Finance Directors
  - Jeneise Briggs, EDI Coordinator
- School District
  - TBD
- EDI Representative
  - Pa Thao, Black and Brown Womyn's Power Coalition
- City Official
  - Mike Golat, City of Altoona Administrator
- Town Official
  - Jennifer Meyer, Town of Pleasant Valley Clerk/Treasurer

# Eau Claire

### **MINUTES**

# Eau Claire County Committee on Administration Tuesday, August 10, 2021, at 2:30 p.m.

# Virtual Meeting

- Business Community
  - Scott Rogers, Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce Public Affairs Chair
- o City-County Health Department
  - Cortney Draxler, Policy & Systems Division Manager
- o Community Non-profit
  - Tishai Atkins, Director of the Community Table

Motion by Supervisor Beckfield, seconded by Supervisor Bates. Unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:24 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Andrea Helland Acting Committee Clerk



MINUTES
Eau Claire County Committee on Administration Tuesday, August 10, 2021, at 2:30 p.m. *Virtual Meeting*