# **Small Claims Frequently Asked Questions**

### Q: How much does it cost to file a Small Claims lawsuit?

A: The Small Claims filing fee is \$94.50 plus service fees. http://www.wicourts.gov/courts/circuit/docs/fees.pdf

### Q: How much are the service fees?

A: SERVICE FEES: See below. Some restrictions apply\*

- 1. \$2.00 per defendant.
- 2. \$8.00 per defendant.
- 3. Private process server or sheriff's department. Contact agency for rates.

# \*SERVICE RESTRICTIONS:

If the defendant lives out of county, there must be personal service.

Evictions are limited to personal service.

Replevin cases are limited to certified mail or personal service.

# Q: What if I cannot afford the filing and/or service fees?

A: You may complete a Petition for Waiver of Filing and Service Fees/Affidavit of Indigency and Order (Form CV-410) and submit it with your small claims summons and complaint. The Judge will approve, deny or order partial payment of fees based upon standard guidelines. Form CV-410 is available at: <a href="http://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit/index.htm">http://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit/index.htm</a>

# Q: The other party lives in another County, where do I file my papers?

A: You may reference Wisconsin Statute Chapter 799 pertaining to Small Claims at <a href="http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/799/01">http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/799/01</a> and/or reference the Small Claims Guidebook at <a href="http://www.wicourts.gov/publications/guides/smallclaimsguide.htm">http://www.wicourts.gov/publications/guides/smallclaimsguide.htm</a>.

### Q: What do I need to file a small claims action?

A: You may refer to the Plaintiff Instruction Sheet for step by step instructions at https://www.co.eau-claire.wi.us/home/showpublisheddocument/37172/637299894766570000.

## Q: Where can I get the standard forms for filing a small claims summons and complaint:

A: Numbered forms are available on the Court System website <a href="www.wicourts.gov">www.wicourts.gov</a>. The Summons and Complaint is available on the Clerk of Court website at: <a href="https://www.co.eau-claire.wi.us/home/showpublisheddocument/37156/637299750440730000">https://www.co.eau-claire.wi.us/home/showpublisheddocument/37156/637299750440730000</a> or in the lobby of the Clerk of Court office located at 721 Oxford Ave, Suite 2220, Eau Claire WI 54703.

## Q: Where can I get additional information about small claims?

A: There are several resources available to the public including:

 Wisconsin Court System Self-help Center: <a href="http://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/index.htm">http://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/index.htm</a>

- 2. Guide to Small Claims Court: http://www.wicourts.gov/publications/guides/smallclaimsguide.htm
- 3. Landlord/Tenant Resource Center: http://wilawlibrary.gov/topics/landlord.php
- 4. Landlord/Tenant information provided in the "WI Courts" (Wisconsin Statutes): <a href="http://nxt.legis.state.wi.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&d=stats&jd=ch.%">http://nxt.legis.state.wi.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&d=stats&jd=ch.%</a> 20704
- 5. Questions about Landlord/Tenant Law: http://wilawlibrary.gov/topics/landlord.php
- 6. Standard circuit court forms can be obtained from the Wisconsin Court system website: http://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit/index.htm
- 7. A free legal clinic is also available the 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of each month at the Eau Claire Public Library and the 4<sup>th</sup> Wednesday of each month at the Chippewa Falls Library from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.