## **MINUTES**

Eau Claire County
Supervised Release Committee
Re: Sexually Violent Persons

**Date**: July 21, 2020 **Time**: 10 a.m.

**Location**: Virtual Meetings via WebEx Events

Present: Joel Brettingen, Lona Sullivan, Nancy Huberty, Richard Eaton, Kelsey Dubay, Michael

Chase, Rodney Eslinger, Gavin Bates, Diane Cable, Derek Thomas

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Acting Committee Clerk

**Public: Present** 

Chair Richard Eaton called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Prior to the public comment session, Chair Eaton advised that the property in Augusta (Otter Creek) was no longer being considered. Public who sent comments regarding the Augusta (Otter Creek) property to the committee clerk were offered to withdraw their comment submitted and the comment was not read to the committee.

Public comment session resumed:

Carol Peuse commented in opposition of housing at the Augusta (Otter Creek) property. Kari Kirkham commented on if the property was to be considered in the future. Chair Eaton did advise the process would be the same as a new potential property.

Chair Eaton called the roll and is noted above under present.

The committee reviewed the minutes from the July 7, 2020 meeting. Rodney Eslinger motioned to approve the minutes are presented. Nancy Huberty seconded the motion. Minutes were approved.

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85(1)(d & e), Chair Eaton advised the committee would move into closed session. Diane Cable motioned to move into closed session; Rodney Eslinger seconded the motion; all were in favor and the webex meeting was locked in closed session.

The meeting moved into open session at 10:24 a.m.

Chair Eaton requested a motion to move forward on E28050 Pond Road. Nancy Huberty motioned to send the committee report regarding Jeff Bonnin and Richard Strand to the Department of State and Health Services. Rodney Eslinger seconded the motion. Verbal roll call vote was taken; aye (Richard Eaton, Nancy Huberty, Rodney Eslinger, Michael Chase) no (none) and 1 member abstained from voting (Lona Sullivan.) Motion passed.

It is recommended to reconvene at a future date, however at this time the August 4, 2020 meeting will be canceled, and a meeting date will be set at a future time.

Chair Eaton requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Rodney Eslinger motioned to adjourn; Nancy Huberty seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 10:29 a.m. motion to adjourn rod, Huberty second; all in favor.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink Acting Committee Clerk