

CORPORATION COUNSEL

Timothy J. Sullivan

August 5, 2020

OFFICE OF CORPORATION COUNSEL

EAU CLAIRE COUNTY EAU CLAIRE COUNTY COURTHOUSE

721 OXFORD AVE., SUITE 3520 EAU CLAIRE, WI 54703

PH: (715) 839-4836 Fax: (715) 839-6243



ASSISTANT CORPORATION COUNSEL

Sharon G. McIlquham Richard A. Eaton Charles R. Ellefsen, III

Fact Sheet; 20-21/060, Library Planning Committee

This resolution supports the creation of a Library Planning Committee. The last time the county convened a library planning committee was in the year 2012. The Eau Claire County Library Plan that was adopted in 2012 called for the Library Planning Committee to reconvene in 2017. This has not happened.

The purpose of the Library Planning Committee would be to review the current Library Plan, the Library Services Agreement and if necessary, make recommendations for changes to those documents.

This resolution creates an ad hoc library planning committee of 11 members, with the work to be completed by the end of December 2020.

Timothy J. Sullivan Corporation Counsel TJS ESTABLISHING A LIBRARY PLANNING COMMITTEE FOR EAU CLAIRE COUNTY

4 5

 WHEREAS, library services in Eau Claire County are currently provided through means of a library services agreement that was originally adopted in 1988 and then updated in 1997; and through a Library Services Plan that was adopted in 2012; and,

through a Library Services Plan that was adopted in 2012; and,

WHEREAS, the 2012 Library Services Plan called for reconvening the Library Planning Committee in January 2017 to update the plan, this has not yet been done; and,

WHEREAS, the County is interested in exploring changes to the current Library Services Agreement or the updating of the current Library Services Plan; and,

WHEREAS, Wisconsin Statutes section 43.11 established the process for library planning and allows the County Board of Supervisors to create a library planning committee.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; that the Eau Claire County Board of Supervisors hereby creates an 11 member ad hoc Library Planning Committee composed of the following: Two county Board Supervisors; one representative from each of the Eau Claire, Altoona, Fall Creek and Augusta libraries; Two Town Board chairmen; one town resident from a town that does not maintain a library; one resident from a city, village or town that maintains a library; and one representative from the Indianhead Federated Library System; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Library Planning Committee shall review the current library services agreement, the current Library Services Plan and explore changes to the agreement/plan, including the possible creation of a public library system under Wis. Stats §§ 43.19 or 43.21, and submit its report and recommendations to the Committee on Administration, library boards and chief elected officers in the County no later than December 31, 2020; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the County Board Chairman is authorized to appoint members of the Library Planning Committee.

ADOPTED:

I hereby certify that the foregoing correctly represents the action taken by the undersigned Committee on Administration by a vote of 5 for, 0 against.

Committee on Administration

Nick Smiar, Chair

Mark Line

Dated this 11th day of August, 2020.