MINUTES

Eau Claire County

• Broadband Committee •

Thursday, February 20, 2020 **4:00 P.M.**

Courthouse - Room #3312 721 Oxford Avenue • Eau Claire, WI

Members: Joseph Malual, Lynn Thompson, Joe Alf, Donald Mowry, Tim Laubach, Luke Hanson, Collin Pomplun, Mark Zuber, Kevin Groskfeutz

Staff: Rodney J. Eslinger - Director of Planning and Development, Dave Hayden - Director of Information Systems

Others Present: Mike Hill, Charter Communication, Pat Anderson, Charter Communication, Curtis Moore, Charter Communication, Martin Voss

Press: Ryan Patterson, Leader Telegram

- Call to order and confirmation of meeting notice
 Chairperson Mowry call to order the meeting at 4:00 p.m. and he confirmed that the meeting was properly noticed.
- 2. Public Comment (limit to 3 minutes per person)
 Martin Voss, Town of Brunswick resident, shared his interest in the Broadband Committee.
- 3. Review/Approval of Committee Minutes from February 6, 2020 **Discussion/Action**Lynn Thompson motioned to approve the minutes as presented, Luke Hanson seconded the motion; all in favor
- 4. Closed Session pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes 19.85 (1)(e) for the purpose of discussing and sharing proprietary information from an outside agency in regard to research and potential revenue of that agency.

Mark Zuber motioned to go into closed session, Collin Pomplun seconded the motion; all in favor.

Luke Hanson motioned to go out of closed session, Tim Laubach seconded the motion; all in favor.

5. Legislative Status Update - **Discussion**

Don Mowry and Mr. Eslinger gave a brief verbal update to the committee on a couple of Senator Jeff Smith's proposed broadband bills.

6. Broadband Telecommuter Resolutions Update - Discussion

Mark Zuber indicated that 6 of the 13 towns in Eau Claire County have adopted Broadband Telecommuter Resolutions. He will contact the clerks from the remaining towns that have yet to adopt the resolution to see their boards will be adopting the resolution and will report back to the committee.

- 7. Next Steps and future meetings **Discussion/Action** The next meeting will be March 19, 2020.
- 8. Adjourn

Action: Meeting adjourned by unanimous consent at 5:31 p.m.

Respectively submitted by,

Rodney J. Eslinger Director of Planning and Development