## **MINUTES**

## Eau Claire County

## Criminal Justice Collaborating Council Executive Board

Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 7:30 a.m. Location: Virtual Webex Meeting

Present: Kathryn Schauf, Nick Smiar, Gary King

Others: Tiana Glenna, Samantha Kraegenbrink - Committee Clerk

Public: Present

Gary King called the meeting to order at 7:32 a.m. and confirmed the meeting notice. Verbal roll call was taken by the clerk and is noted above under present.

David Carlson provided written comments opposing the HIDTA designation, Eau Claire County.

The board reviewed the minutes from the CJCC Executive Board meeting on July 21, 2020. Supervisor Smiar motioned to approve the minutes as presented; Kathryn Schauf seconded the motion. All in favor, minutes approved.

The board reviewed the minutes from the CJCC Executive Board meeting on August 10, 2020. Kathryn Schauf motioned to approve the minutes as presented; Supervisor Smiar seconded the motion. All in favor, minutes approved.

The board reviewed the minutes from the CJCC Full Council meeting on August 19, 2020. Supervisor Smiar motioned to approve the minutes as presented; Gary King seconded the motion, the minutes were approved by the Board and will move forward to the full Council.

The board discussed recommendations and nominations for the 2020 Award of Service to the CJCC. Gary King nominated Rich White – Former DA and Dana Smetana – former head Public Defender and provided further detail. Kathryn Schauf motioned to present the nominations to the full council; seconded by Supervisor Smiar. All in favor.

Tiana Glenna updated the board on the Peer Learning Network/Stepping up (PLN) initiative. Gary King requests that this update be a continuing agenda item of the Board.

The board briefly discussed the HIDTA discussion and advised that the Sheriff would be the best person to update the board and council on the HIDTA funding. Gary King requested that the item be placed on the agenda of the council for further information/discussion.

The next CJCC full council Agenda:

- Nominations
- HIDTA Designation Update
- Introduction of LaRue Pierce

The meeting was adjourned at 8:13 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk