#### **AGENDA**

### Eau Claire County

# **Criminal Justice Collaborating Council**

Wednesday, December 16, 2020 at 7:30 a.m. Virtual Meeting via Webex Events

**Dial In:** 1-415-655-0001 **Access Code:** 145 105 1356 \*please remain muted when not speaking

For those wishing to make public comment, you must email Samantha Kraegenbrink at <a href="mailto:samantha.kraegenbrink@co.eau-claire.wi.us">samantha.kraegenbrink@co.eau-claire.wi.us</a> at least 30 minutes prior to the start of the meeting. You will be called on during public session.

- 1. Call Meeting to Order and Confirmation of Meeting Notice
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Public Comment (3-minute limit per person)
- 4. Approval of Full Council Meeting Minutes **Discussion/Action** 
  - a. October 21, 2020
- Recognition of Rich White and Dana Smetana for their service to the CJCC by Judge Schumacher - Information
- 6. COVID-19 Updates Discussion
  - a. What has worked and why? Will this be sustainable in the long run beyond the pandemic?
- 7. Peer Learning Network/Stepping Up (PLN) Update **Information/Discussion**
- 8. Frequency and/or length of the CJCC Full Council Meetings **Discussion/Action** 
  - a. Suggestions
    - i. Begin at 7:00 a.m. instead of 7:30 a.m. (monthly meeting)
    - ii. Change to monthly instead of bi-monthly (same time, 1 hour)
    - iii. Remain the same
    - iv. Other Suggestions?
- 9. Prework for the Strategic Planning Session (SWOT analysis, etc.) **Discussion**
- 10. HIDTA Designation Update Information/Discussion
- 11. Set Agenda Items for future meetings **Discussion/Action**
- 12. Adjourn

### **MINUTES**

Eau Claire County

## **Criminal Justice Collaborating Council**

Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 7:30 a.m. Virtual Meeting via Webex Events

Present: Sheriff Ron Cramer, Connie Russell, LaRue Pierce, Chief Matt Rokus, Dana Smetana, Lieske Giese, Jenessa Stromberger, Kathryn Schauf, Judge Michael Schumacher, Tim Wavernuk, Justin Patchin, Laurie Osberg, Dana Brown, Gary King, Dave Riewestahl, Stephan Nick, Nick Smiar

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk, Tiana Glenna, Aimee Drivas, James Diezel, Dana Swanstrom, Jonathan Fortier, Luke Fedie, Andrew Falk

Public: Present

Judge Schumacher called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Verbal roll call was read by the Committee Clerk and listed above.

Christine Varnavas, who works with CCS, provided comment regarding her negative interaction with local law enforcement and her relationship with DHS. David Carlson provided comment regarding the HIDTA designation and item 6, Racial and Ethnic Disparities. Both provided a written comment which was forwarded to the Council prior to the meeting.

The Council reviewed minutes from August 19, 2020. Motion by Administrator Schauf, seconded by Tim Wavernuk. No further discussion. Minutes approved as presented.

The Council welcomed new member, LaRue Pierce. Mr. Pierce provided a brief introduction.

Administrator Schauf provided details on the County's work with Racial Equity. Tiana Glenna provided further details on Racial Equity and mental health focus as well as the PLN Stepping Up update. Chief Rokus provided an update on his department's work with mental health issues.

Sheriff Cramer and Andrew Falk provided an extensive update on the HIDTA designation.

Lieske Giese provided an update on Covid-19 in the community as well as in the jail.

Tiana Glenna provided an overview of the nominations for the 2020 Award of Service to the CJCC. Rich White and Dana Smetana have been nominated.

Gary King, Laurie Osberg, Dave Riewestahl, and Judge Schumacher provided an update on Covid-19 Impacts on the Criminal Justice Systems.

COVID-19 impacts on the Criminal Justice System and CJCC meeting frequency were referred to the next meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:34 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk