MINUTES

Eau Claire County
• Committee on Administration •
Tuesday, July 07, 2020
2:30 p.m.

Location: Webex Virtual Meeting

Present: Nick Smiar, Mark Beckfield, Gerald Wilkie, Ray Henning, Colleen Bates

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink – Administration, Sonja Leenhouts – Risk Analyst, Kathryn Schauf – County Administrator, Tim Sullivan – Corporation Counsel, Matt Theisen – Facilities Director, Diane Cable – Human Services Director,

Public (Board Members): Judy Gatlin, Jim Dunning

Public: Present

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Verbal roll call was taken and listed above under *present*.

The committee reviewed the meeting minutes from June 9, 2020. Supervisor Wilkie motioned to approve the minutes are presented; Supervisor Henning seconded the motion. All in favor, minutes approved.

Sonja Leenhouts provided information on Risk & Safety and worker's compensation claims for quarter 1 or quarter 2 of 2020 vs. 2019.

Tim Sullivan discussed File No. 20-21/036, authorizing closing County facilities and functions except for Law Enforcement, the Airport, and 24-Hour Operations for 6 days in 2020; implementing furlough without pay for employees on those days. It was advised that 24/7 operations would not apply to this resolution. **Action**: Update fact sheet to be clearer on what is included under "24/7 operations." Supervisor Bates motions to approve; Supervisor Wilkie seconded the motion. All in favor; motion passes.

Motion by Supervisor Beckfield to discuss the resolution; seconded by Supervisor Bates. Administrator Schauf explained File No. 20-21/035, Adopting a Strategic Plan for the Years 2020-2022 for Eau Claire County. The committee further discussed the resolution and the Strategic Plan. All in favor, motion passes.

The committee discussed File No. 20-21/041 authorizing to abolish one (1.0) FTE Administrative Specialist III and to create one (1.0) FTE Assistant to the County Administrator. Motion by Supervisor Beckfield to discussion; seconded by Supervisor Henning. Administrator Schauf provided further details on the proposed resolution. Supervisor Wilkie motions to approve; Supervisor Beckfield seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passes.

The committee discussed File No. 20-21/042 authorizing to abolish one (1.0) FTE Risk Analyst and to create one (1.0) FTE Risk Manager. Motion by Supervisor Bates to discussion; seconded by Supervisor Henning. Administrator Schauf provided further details on the proposed resolution. Supervisor Wilkie motions to approve; Supervisor Beckfield seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passes.

The committee discussed File No. 20-21/043 authorizing to reclassify the Facilities Director to Pay Grade U, Step 1. Supervisor Beckfield motioned to discuss the resolution; seconded by Supervisor Bates. Administrator Schauf provided further details on the proposed resolution. The committee discussed the resolution. All in favor, motion passes.

Administrator Schauf provided detail on the need to change the effective time of the Strategic Plan in the County Code. We are asking that the committee gives consideration to change the Strategic Plan to odd years as opposed as even years. Supervisor Henning advises that the Wisconsin Counties Association states that the Strategic Plan work sessions/changes should not be tied down to even/odd years, and to instead keep the change of the plan fluid. Administration will utilize Supervisor Henning's comments to prepare more information/document to share with the committee at a future meeting.

Matt Theisen provided a review of Capital Projects for 2021.

The committee discussed File No. 20-21/044 encouraging board members to return their pay increases for 2020. Supervisors Bates motioned to begin discussion; seconded by Supervisor Beckfield. Chair Smiar provided further

explanation on the resolution. 1 yes (Supervisor Beckfield) and 4 no (Supervisors Henning, Smiar, Bates, Wilkie)

Norb Kirk – Finance Director and Diane Cable – Human Services Director provided detail on the operational structure of County Finance Services. The topic will be agendized regularly for ongoing dialogue.

The committee reviewed the recommendation of reappointments to the Local Emergency Planning Committee. Motion by Supervisor Henning to confirm the below appointments, seconded by Supervisor Wilkie. All in favor.

Local Emergency Planning Committee

James Hager (reappointment) term expires April 2022 Jason Knecht (reappointment) term expires April 2022 Jack Running (reappointment) term expires April 2022 Steve Vargo (reappointment) term expires April 2022

The meeting was adjourned at 4:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink Administrative Specialist III