MINUTES

Eau Claire County
• Committee on Administration •
Thursday, July 30, 2020
11:00 a.m.

Location: Webex Virtual Meeting

Present: Nick Smiar, Colleen Bates, Mark Beckfield, Gerald Wilkie, Ray Henning

Others: Samantha Kraegenbrink, Kathryn Schauf, Tim Sullivan, Norb Kirk

Public: Judy Gatlin - County Board Supervisor

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Verbal roll call was taken and noted above under present.

No public wished to make comment.

Chair Smiar asked for a motion to support File No. 20-21/045, a resolution approving 2020 gifts, grants, and/or donations to Eau Claire County. Supervisor Wilkie motioned to record the support of the Committee on Administration; Supervisors Henning seconded the motion. By roll call vote, 5 ayes (Supervisors Wilkie, Henning, Beckfield, Bates, Smiar) and 0 noes. Motion passed and the file is referred back to the County Board with a statement of support.

Chair Smiar opened discussion on the referral from the County Board of Supervisors regarding File No. 20-21/028 – To create a task force. Supervisor Bates recommended 7 members and Supervisor Henning recommended 9 members (the Chairs of each standing committee.) Supervisor Wilkie suggested having fresh eyes on the task force; he has recommendations whom he contacted and has agreed to serve if needed. Supervisor Gatlin was permitted to speak and advised that if all chairs were appointed, it would lack diversity with 7 males and 2 females. Chair Smiar provided an opinion to appoint a variety of members from the County Board, chairs or not. The committee further discussed the composition of the committee.

Supervisor Henning motions the recommendation is 9 County Board members which are the Chair of the standing committees/or the vice-chair as a designee. In addition, the County Administrator, Corporation Counsel, and the Finance Director will attend meetings. Chair Smiar would assume the responsibility of the Chair of the task force. The committee discussed whether the Chair be a voting or non-voting member, which Chair Smiar will determine at the first meeting of the task force. Motion is seconded by Supervisor Bates. By roll call vote, 4 ayes (Supervisors Wilkie, Henning, Beckfield, Bates) 0 noes, and 1 abstain (Supervisor Smiar.)

Chair Smiar will notify the board of the decision of this committee and they other chairs of their appointment. After which, a meeting will be scheduled.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Administration