AGENDA

Eau Claire County Criminal Justice Collaborating Council Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 7:30 a.m. Virtual Meeting via Webex Events

Dial In: 1-415-655-0001 Access Code: 145 641 9460 *please remain muted when not speaking

For those wishing to make public comment, you must email Samantha Kraegenbrink at samantha.kraegenbrink@co.eau-claire.wi.us at least 30 minutes prior to the start of the meeting. You will be called on during public session. *If providing a written comment, the comment will be acknowledged and provided to the Council prior to the meeting for review.*

- 1. Call Meeting to Order and Confirmation of Meeting Notice
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Public Comment (3-minute limit per person/15-minute max)
- Approval of Full Council Meeting Minutes Discussion/Action

 August 19, 2020
- 5. New member introduction Information a. LaRue Pierce
- 6. Council General Discussion on Community-wide work happening with Racial Equity **Discussion**
- 7. HIDTA Designation update: Sheriff Cramer Information/Discussion
- 8. COVID-19 Updates Discussion
- 9. Nominations for 2020 Award of Service to the CJCC Discussion/Action
- 10. COVID-19 Impacts on the Criminal Justice Systems Discussion
 - a. Positives and Negatives
- 11. Set Agenda Items for future meetings Discussion/Action
- 12. Adjourn

Prepared by: Samantha Kraegenbrink

MINUTES

Eau Claire County Criminal Justice Collaborating Council

Wednesday, August 19, 2020 at 7:30 a.m. Virtual Meeting via Webex Events

Present: Supervisor Connie Russell, Mike Felton, Susan Schaffer, Tim Wavrunek, Captain Dan Bresina, Supervisor Nick Smiar, Captain Joel Brettingen, Judge Michael Schumacher, Jenessa Stromberger, Chelsea Mayer, Chief Matt Rokus, Elizabeth Giese, District Attorney Gary King, Dr. Justin Patchin, Christi Knutson, Mike Felton, Dana Smetana

Others: Jen Coyne, Tiana Glenna, Samantha Kraegenbrink – Clerk, Luke Fedie, Vickie Gardner, Dana Swanstrom, Diane Cable, James Deziel

Judge Schumacher called the meeting to order at 7:31 a.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

Verbal roll call was taken with participants present by the Clerk and noted above under present.

Public Comment (copies of the written public comments were provided to the Council following the meeting):

- Alicia Dean provided a written public comment regarding the HIDTA designation
- Elizabeth de Cleyre provided a written public comment regarding the HIDTA designation
- Kimberly Cronk County Board Supervisor District 28, Melissa Janssen County Board Supervisor District 25/Committee on Judiciary and Law Enforcement and Dr. Susan Wolfgram Community Advocate, provided a written comment regarding appointments, the CJCC by-laws, and processes
- David Carlson provided a written comment regarding the HIDTA designation

The committee reviewed minutes from June 17, 2020. Supervisor Smiar motioned to approve the minutes as presented; seconded by Susan Schaffer. No further discussion, minutes were approved unanimously.

Tiana Glenna provided information regarding the 2021 CJCC budget. The committee reviewed the budget and discussed.

Luke Fedie and Vickie Gardner provided an overview of the Treatment Courts 2021 Budget. District Attorney King questioned the Levy line item and requested more information and clarification.

Elizabeth Giese provided a brief update on the COVID-19 pandemic and response in the County. For the most up to date information, Elizabeth advised to visit the website: www.covid19eauclaire.com

Captain Brettingen provided information on the HIDTA designation. There is a potential of up to \$75,000 in reimbursements regionally (between 14 agencies. Also noted was that HIDTA funding is prohibited from being used for mental health treatment.

Jen Coyne provided an update on treatment courts regarding current participation information.

Judge Schumacher provided information on the nomination of LaRue Pierce. No discussion by the Council. Motion by Nick Smiar, seconded by Dana Smetana. All favor, motion passed.

The following items will be added to a future meeting to discuss:

• Discussion about community-wide work happening with racial equity

The meeting was adjourned at 8:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Samantha Kraegenbrink – Committee Clerk