MINUTES

Eau Claire County

Committee on Administration

Tuesday, January 14, 2020 2:30 p.m. Courthouse – Room #3312 721 Oxford Ave • Eau Claire, WI

Members: Ray Henning, Mark Beckfield, Nick Smiar

Member(s) Absent: Gerald Wilkie, Colleen Bates

Others: Frank Draxler, Kathryn Schauf, Richard Eaton, Matt Theisen, Norb Kirk, Rodney Eslinger,

Samantha Cole

Public: Judy Gatlin

Chair Smiar called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. and confirmed meeting notice.

There were no public comments

Chair Smiar advised at the request of Supervisor Wilkie that the committee postpone approval of the minutes until the next regular meeting. December 19, 2019 minutes will be added to the January 14, 2020 agenda.

Pursuant to Wis. State §19.85(1)(d) a motion was made by Supervisor Beckfield and seconded by Supervisor Henning to move into closed session.

Open session resumed at 2:58 p.m.

The Committee discussed resolution 19-20/091 – Grant a permanent easement to SBA Structures LLC., for a cell tower at the Altoona Highway Shop. Supervisor Henning motioned to approve; Supervisor Beckfield seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The Committee discussed a potential change in pay process for committee members. A resolution will be created and brought back to a future meeting.

The Committee discussed the process for the Rules of the Board. A reminder will be agendized on the next regular County Board of Supervisors meeting.

Frank Draxler discussed various components to organizational planning in regard to Operational Effectiveness, Strategic Plan and Communications. The final Operational Effectiveness session is on January 16, 2020 and a report will be presented to the Committee on Administration at a future meeting.

Chair Smiar requested a motion to approve the reappointment of Jackie Pavelski to the Indianhead Federated Library System Board. Supervisor Beckfield motioned to approve; Supervisor Henning seconded the motion. All were in favor and appointment will be taken to the next regular County Board of Supervisors meeting.

Chair Smiar requested a motion to approve the appointment of Sue Miller to the ADRC Board. Supervisor Henning motioned to approve; Supervisor Beckfield seconded the motion. All were in favor and appointment will be taken to the next regular County Board of Supervisors meeting.

The next regular Committee on Administration meeting will be on February 11, 2020.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:46 p.m.

Respectively submitted by,

Samantha Cole

Administrative Specialist III
Department of Administration